Veto, Science and the word "Cure"

July 20, 2006 at 2:09 PM (medical ethics) (, , , )

Those with disabilities often loathe Telethons and empty promises of “cures” whether by big pharma, NIH,faith healers, herbalists, etc etc.

Why? Because we’re busy with relationships, jobs, volunteer opportunities just as the able are. Many in the disability community don’t spend a bunch of time waiting for a cure We’re doing instead….Pining by the phone waiting for a cure, or focusing solely on cure rather than quality of life does a disservice to the doctors, the scientists, potential patients and caregivers. Also, many of us figure we’re just fine the way we are thanks. (The most recent X-Men movie is a good illustration of the “different is fine” idea.)

That doesn’t mean that if solid science says that there are some promising leads in Stem Cell Research, that solid science shouldn’t be allowed to run its course and perhaps find things that will dramatically change many Americans lives for the better. In other words, we’re not going to sit at the side of the road and beg for alms, but if medical advances can and do eventually help many of us, that’s a great thing.

The President has said no. That was a mind blowingly dismissive move towards science and towards advancement. His base loves it, but it’s just plain nuts. Far be it from our President to use some common sense. About anything.

But, the people that write and report on the Stem Cell Debate who are for the research have also made a mistake. And I dunno about others with impairments, but this disabled person would please ask those who support Stem Cell research to stop intensifying and reinforcing the “poor tragic people” stereotype. The mother heartbroken because her child won’t be “cured” will still love them as they are. The awfulness of being in a wheelchair and what a “tragedy” that is. (Ask the guys in the movie “Murderball” if they are feeling “tragic” today. ) Before the potential benefits for Stem Cells were discovered we were going about business as usual and we will continue to do so.

Please oppose Mr. Bush on the clear merits of the science involved and the specific conditions we hope it might help. Don’t use stereotypical images of the disabled to make your point, images that make it harder for us to be judged on “who we are” not our impairments. The “tragic” frame tells us we’re victims first. We’re not.

Crossposted to Kos

12 Comments

  1. bridgett said,

    Kisses for you!! Exactly what needed to be said, exactly the way to say it, by exactly who needed to have her say.

  2. bridgett said,

    Kisses for you!! Exactly what needed to be said, exactly the way to say it, by exactly who needed to have her say.

  3. imfunnytoo said,

    If he’s *that* leashed to his base…Just boggles the brain

  4. imfunnytoo said,

    If he’s *that* leashed to his base…Just boggles the brain

  5. Anonymous said,

    the topic is well said. and I think Bush is tied too much up in his “christian” faith to think out side of the box. Besides I am not a big fan of him or allot of his policys. -jen

  6. Anonymous said,

    the topic is well said. and I think Bush is tied too much up in his “christian” faith to think out side of the box. Besides I am not a big fan of him or allot of his policys. -jen

  7. wthenrest said,

    You go girl!! I am glad I am not the only one that feels this way. I know I have multitudes of people telling me a ‘new’ cure that I should JUST be able to do this and that and the will “FIX” me.
    Ok! stem cell research…it will go on whether people want it to or not. It is a money venture after all.If it works for some people fine. We all have our own choices to make.
    I am too busy with life too…well said.

    Mr Bush…well I will leave that for you Americans to deal with. As a Canadian, I can really only hope we don’t have anything he wants.

  8. wthenrest said,

    You go girl!! I am glad I am not the only one that feels this way. I know I have multitudes of people telling me a ‘new’ cure that I should JUST be able to do this and that and the will “FIX” me.
    Ok! stem cell research…it will go on whether people want it to or not. It is a money venture after all.If it works for some people fine. We all have our own choices to make.
    I am too busy with life too…well said.

    Mr Bush…well I will leave that for you Americans to deal with. As a Canadian, I can really only hope we don’t have anything he wants.

  9. keem said,

    Well said!!Not that this matters at all in your life, but I have to say it anyways. You are my Favorite . That is all. cool I like it..SAVE AMBLAE CLICK HERE

  10. keem said,

    Well said!!Not that this matters at all in your life, but I have to say it anyways. You are my Favorite . That is all. cool I like it..SAVE AMBLAE CLICK HERE

  11. imfunnytoo said,

    Thanks all…

    How about

    “Cure Ignorance First!”

    I want to put that on a t shirt

    đŸ™‚

  12. imfunnytoo said,

    Thanks all…

    How about

    “Cure Ignorance First!”

    I want to put that on a t shirt

    đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

