Disbelief

May 7, 2012 at 7:00 AM (Uncategorized) (, )

This is what I would have written for BADD, except of course I was late.

There are two types of disbelief about mental health issues. I hate ’em both, particularly as depression, anxiety and/or bipolar disorder have been part of both sides of the family tree.

The first type, has some validity somewhere…just not with my genetic legacy.

“Everybody thinks everything can be fixed with a pill today.”

I agree, you shouldn’t throw pills at every issue, even every mental health issue. Big Pharma has made a business of making everyone and their brother think a pill will handle everything And people should have the right to consider and follow alternative methods for dealing with those issues, if it isn’t serious enough to cause immminent harm.

But…

Regarding depression and anxiety, I am on a single med that you could not pay me to go off of unless a shrink advised me to do so. Off it I am prone to irrational fears, and anxiety about daily living far off the scale in relation to the stresses that are actually occurring.

I was also diagnosed with Adult ADD in 2009 where blood pressure issues make using meds to deal with it impractical, so I completely get that someone could make a decision about mental health that meant they would not take a medicine discussed with their mental health care person (the key here is honesty…I’m not for saying you’ll take something and then dissapearing it instead of taking it…)

The second kind of disbelief, ironically, comes from the same family members that have seen depression, when untreated, have a devastating effect on their family…

I’ve been told that just because there’s some “made up” label for sudden spacing on where in the world you left stuff, or put it (ADD), that since you had the symptoms long before the condition was named, that there is, in fact, no such condition, and it’s just a plot by shrinks to make $$$.

When I was four, five and six years old, I can’t count the number of times my mom gave me some important permission slip or something, told me not to lose it before I got on the school bus in ten minutes, I *resolved* not to lose it…

And then just completely lost track of it immediately thereafter.
That feature never went away and was joined by chronic disorganization, and five or six other symptoms that I checked “Always” on on the adult add assessment sheet.

“Doesn’t *everybody* do this?” I said resignedly…My health care provider shook her head.

“When I was a kid, we didn’t have pills for any of this stuff, people just lived with it.”

Or didn’t, but of course, no one would have talked about that either, had it happened.

We have medicines today, for conditions that have always existed, both mental and physical, If medicines get made, and conditions get names, there has to be some good that comes out of that.

And I’m tired. Damn tired of people who’ve not dealt with these issues themselves deciding they know the reality of them, or of people that have seen their impact taking their own heads and stuffing them beneath the sand.

2 Comments

  1. A. Lynch said,

    I don’t deal with the same issue as you but am faced with a condition that , through genealogical research, I have found seems to run rampant in my family. I do what I can with what I have, and knowledge helps to define the problem better as I try to achieve relief.

    • imfunny2 said,

      A Lynch, thanks for sharing….does your family acknowledge this condition through your research ?

Leave a Reply

