Breakfast of what

June 3, 2014 at 9:07 AM (Uncategorized)

Warning: graphic imagery to follow. Not for the faint of heart.

I’m about to disrespect an entire style breakfast. The horrible misuse of two perfectly good foods.

Sausage you see is a next to food. Next to eggs, next to pancakes, next  to French toast.

I love sausage particularly turkey sausage. I think it’s great. But it is a next to food.

Buttermilk biscuits are also a next to food. They can be next to eggs at breakfast and next to meat for lunch and dinner. They should be dry and then covered with mountains of superfluous  butter before they are eaten.

But this”gravy ” business.  Gravy is brown for beef, and a certain tan shade for poultry.

Gravy is served at dinner.

This stuff, this very nearly cold grey stuff swamping the sausage and slopping up a perfectly good buttermilk biscuit

… that bears an
unfortunate resemblance to what is left on the roadways when too many kids are going on too many spinning rides at the carnival just after they’ve eaten.

Warned you about the graphic imagery, didn’t I?

When I am given this dish for breakfast my job is always to rescue the pieces of sausage and the biscuit itself from the captive gravy so that I may eat as little as possible of that “gravy” stuff.

Bleah.

2 Comments

  1. Gerald said,

    Here in the South-land that is a sacred tradition that has helped generations along to their early deaths from heart disease. I, however, was born in Michigan and am only a southerner by geographical positioning, so I get what you are saying.

    • imfunny2 said,

      Yeah I know I figure I’m about to restart some sort of armed conflict with this post. But I can’t help it. bleh bleh bleh.

Leave a Reply

