Things you think would never happen in here

April 30, 2014 at 1:47 PM (Uncategorized)

Grand Central Station in my room this morning. First there was the company shrink, who I know I’m going to need if I I’m going to get acclimated. Or if I’m ever going to get out of here. Then there was the Perky Occupational Therapist, who came in just at the same moment. I feel that my head was more important than hand weights at that particular moment so she will return later today. Then some survey taker from some organization that I didn’t get the name of came in and began to ask me how my experience was. I answered her questions in a very un flavored  bland manner, something like a cross between an oatmeal and tapioca pudding.

Then there was just the regular grouchy stuff that happens on a regular basis.

Then I got back in the bed. Because  yesterday I sat up in a wheelchair * holding myself up by my feet *  from 10 a.m. To 6 p.m. Way Too Long. And the physical therapist came at six o’clock yesterday.

( monologue inside my head: )  ” Really? Seriously?  okay I’m supposed to use these feet for anything other than decoration? I’m supposed to stand up and hold myself up by my shaking hands and those feet for at least two minutes at a shot and then squat and then move them and weight shift ? Right. Yes. and the world is flat and I’m a skinny girl. ”  but I did it all because of course therapy is my ticket out, and I damn well know it.

Leave a Reply

