For those who believe those with chronic illnesses should have nothing.

April 26, 2014 at 9:31 AM (Uncategorized)

For the folks who will only consent to having taxpayer dollars pay for my care if I have nothing, none of the trappings of the middle class life. .. Well they can be happy except for computer access enabled by free WiFi in the facility,  I don’t. Here’s a list of the things I don’t have.

I don’t have a DVR. No more malleable TV watching when and where I please. No more saving my favorite classic movies for more than two years on the DVR so I can pull them up whenever I please. This should be the easiest to do without because they’re bigger things that are gone but this particular one kills me. It means I do not even have the delayed axis of on demand 2 new movies that come out they’re not available for me. And I’ve been a movie buff since I was quite young, not just the old stuff what some of the current films as well.

Then there’s money.  My federal benefit, my social security disability is taken up by the facility before my Medicaid kicks in to pay for my care. Sounds like a reasonable thing really, doesn’t it? And the state government is generous enough to leave me $35 a month.  Dear me, whatever will I spend it on?

Then privacy is completely gone, that’s a given. I think it’s easier for me because I’ve always been a hey I got no shame kind of person, so if it’s unavoidable that several people see you in various stages of all altogether during the day then I guess that’s how it is.
And then of course there’s what I’ve discussed before the loss of my home.  I am curiously comforted though by the fact that I am not alone in this. It’s not just that many of the people here are in the same boat. it’s simply that there are so many other ways people lost their homes in the last decade: hurricanes, tsunamis, tornadoes, foreclosure. Many many people who used to be able to call themselves middle-class homeowners or even middle-class renters can’t do that anymore. So I choose to consider myself just another one in a displaced generation, that I count back to the arrival of Hurricane Katrina in 2005.

So, to those who would call me and those like me takers, do you think you have taken enough?

Leave a Reply

