Should I stay or should I go?

August 11, 2013 at 1:39 PM (Uncategorized)

Of course I’ll be the one making the decision, but it will come up sometime relatively soon (within the next year?) if I should stay in Lorain County or move to Cuyahoga when I am offered an accessible apartment there…(fairly high up on the waiting list at present)

I have a list of pros and cons for each place, for staying and going…  I just really need some input so it can help me be well decided before the call even gets made.  I’d appreciate anyone leaving their ideas and comments either here directly or on my FB page where this will be posted.  Thanks for taking the time to review and leave some input.  I’m especially hoping for ideas from other PWD’s I’ve ‘met’ online.

Lorain County (Present Home)

Pros:

Easily accessible grocery, pharmacy, haircut place, Subway, bank and church via a short short power chair ride.  I have a strong connection to that church.  It will be difficult to leave.

Quiet, safe, well maintained space in an atypically affluent neighborhood.

A really good home health care team/doctor

Prompt transport  to medical visits.

Usually great spring, summer fall weather. Milder winters because I’m outside of the ‘snow belt’ and in these areas being close to Lake Erie actually moderates the winter, doesn’t enhance it.

Cons:

No public transportation of any kind…private transport that is accessible is either insanely expensive( 150.00 a trip) or cannot be used with my powerchair…so visiting, socializing,films,dinners,plays,museums…all of which are kinda my thing…are not possible even in the limited frequency or duration allowed by the Medicare homebound rule.  There is little hope of the transportation issue changing in this county in the near future.

Friends and family have to commit to most of a day driving to see me since I am unable to drive.  (45 to 90 minutes one way for the nearest family.)

 

 

Cuyahoga County (Parma)

Pros:  Same accessible apartment type as I presently have.

Access to Paratransit (if eligible) or fixed route public transit. Means non medical transport possible, and transport likely available as I age in place and my family might pass away or move out of state…so even when ‘alone’ there would be some resource.

Many churches nearby

Closer to friends/family.

Cons

Grocery shopping will have to be either more structured (I go by bus and have to carry and handle items longer)  or the home health aide will have to go for me.

Would probably switch pharmacy to mail order (to make sure I can get meds without having to worry about weather etc.}

Have to rehire home health aide and nurse…and get a new primary care physician.

Less hanging outside in the yard etc because the grounds don’t feel like a small park like my present one does.

Worse winter weather.

 

As I’ve said, I’d appreciate any comments and opinion either left here in the comment section or in comments on my FB page.

Thanks 🙂

 

1 Comment

  1. Sari Maree Smith said,

    You know it comes down to what you value most in life. If being close to family matters most and will also give you more company and support, that may be the way to go. If you originally came from a cooler climate you might adjust. I came from a warmer climate to a cool one and I hate it! The lack of light seriously affects my mood for most of the year. I think you have to weigh up your own reactions to all the elements in play and also realize that any change is hard. On the other hand, not risking is no way to live… Good luck with this!

Leave a Reply

