Negotiation

December 21, 2012 at 12:34 PM (Uncategorized)

My last Ohio Job was held in 1997.  (I held others in Colorado until 2009 )

My last Ohio job involved two things.  Leading a team of people with disparate skill sets and differing education levels to fix specific workflow issues…while continuing to be a frontline customer service toad.

Not to brag but I and my crew fixed something my supervisors had tried for three years to fix, that computer programmers had insisted was working correctly, but really wasn’t…

And…negotiation.  With lawyers.  Many lawyers become involved in public office so, the mindset of the person on the other end of a negotiation *about money* was quite similar.

Every damn day.

Now, I don’t know what Presidents Senators and House members make…I do know it’s a damn sight more than I did.

You boys (yes I know the Congress has women, but I believe it’s mostly testosterone driving this nonsense)

You boys obviously don’t give a good **** about your constituents, Democratic, Republican, independent, Libertarian what have you.

Because if the stuff that kicks in on Jan 1 *stays* kicked in…

The economy is going to implode and we’re going to have Recession number two.

And in six months some politician is going to be yapping that it’s the newly unemployed’s fault that they are newly unemployed.  Don’t buy it.   It’s our “public servants” all of them, that get to share the blame.

Ok…here’s the hold my nose deal I would *force* through, if I had such power….and nobody would like it much, but at least it would get done.  *I* don’t like it.  It doesn’t match my personal preferences.  But when something needs done, you sit down and *give things up* on both sides.

Earned benefit cuts:  Go to the hideous HMO model of “money per patient” rather than “money per procedure.” for Medicare and Medicaid patients.

Dual Eligibles only get Medicaid level reimbursement for all their stuff, giving back any difference in rates between Medicare and Medicaid to the government.  These will affect me quite negatively and I’m well aware of that.

Do the chained CPI thing.

Cut food stamp benefits by the same percentage I outline in tax increases below.

Reduce cuts in defense that would have gone through the sequestration.  Don’t eliminate them, reduce them.

Tax the portion of individual income at the 1990’s rates over 500k for individuals that’s roughly a four percent increase.

Get a promise that the debt ceiling will be raised without fanfare for at least two years.

Regarding gun safety:  I think the below is something reasonable people should be able to negotiate:

Take the drums and clips with more than ten rounds of ammunition out of the civilian sphere. Incentivize buyback programs.  It is mainly symbolic.  But some action has to be taken to honor the loss of the family of any and every child lost in gun violence.  I’m aware most gun crime is committed with hand guns.  I just think limiting the ability of one person to take out twenty other people is a good start.

Make sure that every online primary seller, every gun show seller *has* to be licensed and perform background checks before a gun is purchased.  Of course this won’t eliminate illegal sales, a black market, but it will, by God reduce them.

Fund current county mental health boards to higher levels without much fuss if they agree to develop outreach through the schools to teens and parents that have concerns or problems in this area.

And, along with these negotiations responsible parents, keep trying to keep bloody minded videogames away from kids.

 

Now, after Christmas Washington, hold your noses and get this **** done.

1 Comment

  1. Steve R the cuzzzz said,

    I agree with some of what said but not all. Even limiting the high cap mag in the civilian will not stop the people who do these kind of things for they do not get their weapons legally anyways. As for cutting funding to the disabled and low income families I disagree there also the government needs to stop bailling out banks that keep do business as usual if you keep doing the same thing then don’t expect different results. Stop patting your good old boys on the back for cutting benefits and laying people off to increase your gotten line. Stop making it easier and more profitable to send jobs overseas. Bring back our manufacturing base invest in new technologies for alteritive energy make this country a leader in clean energy not a follower. Just my 2 cents.

Leave a Reply

