Dear Hope:

October 2, 2012 at 11:53 AM (Uncategorized) (, , , )

If I could send a letter to Hope Holcomb of Canton Ohio, the ten year old with cerebral palsy being mocked by a neighbor boy and his father…

News Report link here.

It might go like this:

Dear Hope

My name’s Jean and I’ve got CP too.

I’m so sorry that you are going through this.

Sometimes ignoring can help, and sometimes it can’t.  My parents told me to ignore the people that made fun of me because I had cerebral palsy.  I tried, but it did not work.

The thing is, your parents are fighting for you.  For that small thing of a quiet ride on a bus to school.   They love you.

You’re going to do a lot of really wonderful stuff as you grow up.  You’re going to learn new things, and have fun, and meet new people.  And you’ll have more and more friends that realize you’re a fun enthusiastic kid, and that the crutches don’t matter.  You are going to leave these bullies in the dust, kid.  It’s going to be ok.

Bullies like that, people like that…Since I’m 50 ( an old lady compared to you,)  I can tell you life answers them.

For every nasty thing they do or say, they don’t have as good a time in life.

They’ll be unhappy someday too…

I don’t even think about the boys that bullied me about my cerebral palsy on the bus much anymore.  I don’t remember their names and I barely remember their faces.

It’s like they don’t exist anymore.

Sometime soon…all of this will get better.

‘Till then, you just keep right on walking.  Forward.  Ahead.  Away from them.

1 Comment

  1. Steve R the cuzzzz said,

    I think you should contact the news channel and see if they would relay this to her and let her know that not everyone one in the world who is “normal” is an asshole. Keep strong and e shall fight for those who can’t.

Leave a Reply

