Impairment as shaper

September 18, 2012 at 8:16 AM (Uncategorized)

I was speaking with somebody the other day and I said, “Sometimes I’m glad things turned out the way they did…and they looked at me like I was nuts. I said, “Would I be as adaptable to new situations? Maybe not. Would I be the same observer of the crazy that is life without having been somewhat ‘forced’ to observe…perhaps not.” Besides, some of the stuff able-bodied people with my DNA have gotten into makes me think that I would have been way too much trouble to the world and myself, had I been able-bodied

1 Comment

  1. Emily Davis said,

    Short and to the point. I love it! And I agree with it! I’ve learned over the years in dealing with my disabilities and those of my friends that we just do things differently. Period. That got me to thinking, well if I HAVE to do X, Y, and Z differently because of my disability, what else can I do differently just because, or just to see how else it can be done? From that thought process, I’ve learned to be tremendously adaptable to all sorts of needs and challenges. So I totally agree with you. I’m glad I am the way I am because I truly believe I experience things in a more rounded way than I otherwise would have. Now the next challenge is to get the rest of the world to see through the same lens!

Leave a Reply

