Playing it safe.

August 21, 2012 at 6:32 AM (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )

I’ve noticed something interesting.  And in a way I’m kind of sad that I’ll have to go against it.

Because I know my family members raise these issues out of concern for my safety.

In the next few years, I’ll have the opportunity to move back into Cuyahoga County…

I love the neighborhood I live in now.  It’s well kept, quiet, ..pretty darn upscale.

(it’s very atypical for housing for people with disabilities to be in upscale neighborhoods…this is a unique situation.)

But…in the part of Lorain County I live in, there is very very little in the way of accessible transportation.

Which is the biggest reason for me to accept the move back into Cuyahoga County. (The second reason is that I’d be closer to family and friends)

It appears my family (both sides) have real concerns about this move.

The conversations often go something like this:

“You know you really ought to consider staying. This is such a great place.”

or “We think you should just stay here.” “This is wonderful.”

To which, I always answer, “Would *you* live without a car?”

They, of course, say no.

Well, since I’m unable to drive…Public transit is my “car.”

And frankly, I’d like it back.

I leave home rarely, due to the difficult nature of one of my impairments, but when I do leave, I’d like to have more options than an ambulette for medical transport only. (And who knows how long Medicaid is going to keep covering medical transport in the state of Ohio?)

And, yes, I’d have to rely pretty heavily on transit to emergency grocery shop, (my home health person can do the regular shopping), get to church.. get laundry quarters,things, that since the apartment complex is literally smash up behind a strip mall, myself and the power chair can handle nicely in good weather in my present place.

The family’s  perception of the neighborhood I’d be moving into is that it can be unsafe sometimes. I agree with that.  I wouldn’t be going out evenings or early mornings. I’ve lived in the exact same area of Cleveland before, when I was first married, and I think I know the drill.

I do appreciate any concern for my safety.  It’s welcome.  But I’m not going to play it safe, I’m going to shoot for some more independence.

Leave a Reply

