A benefit of aging…

February 3, 2012 at 5:47 PM (Uncategorized)

Whenever I stumble across something that I believe is a genuine offset against the fact that aging sucks…I figure I should put it out there.

I have a volatile temper and a big mouth offline as well as on, and a difficult intensity sometimes…anyone who has read here or knows me offline would say, well duh.

But, I have one friend that confided their difficulty with that particular aspect of my nature, years ago, and over time I’ve finally gotten enough of a handle on said volatility offline, so that when I’m with them, I’m able to consciously put myself on a better leash, so that I figure there’s less  discomfort for them.

I’m self aware of a lot of my flaws…it’s only recently that I sense the ability to manage some of them away, some of the time…I think it’s a natural outgrowth of growing older.

Thank goodness there are some benefits from growing old sometimes.

Otherwise, “Logan’s Run” would have been reality TV, not speculative fiction.

Leave a Reply

