We’ve got more choices…

October 27, 2011 at 4:26 PM (Uncategorized) (, , )

Being morbidly obese is hard in this society….

Being morbidly obese with disabilities that predated the obesity and are separate from it….is harder.

Let’s say you begin to exersize and your health improves.

You watch salt for blood pressure

You watch sugar to avoid diabetes.

But since you have a long way to go, you’re going to look Fat Enough to Laugh At for a long time.

There’s something besides comic fatshaming or extreme medical intervention…that we can do, and I think, should do.

I have a heavyset friend who weighs in only a bit more than myself…and yet she stays away from social events,  from movies, or the parks, or church.

She isolates herself *by choice* and she admits part of the reason is so she won’t have to endure any staring or pointing, laughter, rude comments.

I’m a fat broad and I won’t do that.  No one said you had to ‘get out less’ because you were fat.

I don’t know, the most I might do is choose not to eat in public, but even that seems extreme.

[It’s because I’ve had total strangers point at what’s on my plate and ask me if I should be eating that. So I don’t eat desserts in restaurants  anymore.  But the inquiry by strangers hasn’t stopped.  It now goes to quantity. [“….do you really think you should be eating that much?”]

Will people be happy when I bring one of those little trays from the diet dinners to restaurants with me, or will they still get publicly nuts about the four bites in those trays ?

But I won’t isolate myself.  It will be infrequent, but when family and friends are around to help me get around I’ll go visiting, I’ll hit the park I’ll go to films, theatre, religious observance.

I think fat folks make it harder on themselves when they hide away.

Being fat is tough enough.  Don’t make it worse.  Make a conscious decision to connect, to socialize, with friends and family.

You’ve got  to  feed your soul.  You’ve got to feed your mind, your emotional life.  Your creativity.

 

 

Leave a Reply

