August 3rd,1:00 am

July 23, 2011 at 5:30 PM (Uncategorized) ()

A lot of people with more experience in these matters have spoken about this…

I’m weighing in.

Back in 1980.  When I was a college freshman:

Along with the folks I agreed with:

I knew a few Ayn Randians around the college dormitory,
I knew a few sons and daughters of fiscal conservatives around the college dormitory who were bent on following in their parents footsteps.
I even knew a couple of evangelicals around the college dormitory.

College is supposed to be the place where people discuss.

In my particular crowd, most of whom were studying the ‘soft sciences’ or  writing and literature, the many conflicting theories of the right and left got aired, re-aired and re-aired again.

Usually at night…in the company of whatever substances happened around.

You’d have a different take at 7:30 when you’d just had dinner, than at 1:00 am more than a little bit altered.

Libertarianism, lower or no tax idolatry and the self-interest worship of Rand…. are acceptable as mental wrestling at 1:00 am at college I suppose, if that’s the side of the road you’re on.  Personally, early exposure to these ideologies was very helpful for me. It ruled out several men I might have dated as disasters… “Uh, no…not asking that one if we could go for a beer…” But for living in our present reality?

America is not a campus, where you can try shiny ideas out…and say “Let’s take this theory, and apply it to the * budget and see if it works….

Our country is not a damned football game where one “side” has to win.

I’m going to sound like a righty for a minute.

I love America.  What in the hell are these people doing to it? (Okay I’m done sounding like a righty now)

Do these right wing purists, the ones who won’t vote to raise the debt ceiling no matter what…do they understand what they are doing to people that fund them, and people they say they stand behind and support, never mind the stuff they hate…do they know what this will do to the world economy?  To veterans, and active duty military?   This isn’t a miniseries, a movie, or a dress rehearsal….If I were a country holding a great deal of US debt?  I’d be a bit concerned.

Apparently House Republicans are willing to burn even those folks for the sake of that idea they grabbed at 1:00 am.  They’d rather kiss Grover Norquist than support the military and their families.

Support the troops my oversized backside.

Wall Streeters are freaking out. (Not that they don’t deserve a bit of panic, but that’s another diary for another day.) They say this could make the Great Depression look like a blip on the radar.

Economists are waving metaphorical signs and using words like apocalyptic.

(That word, of course, is not having the desired effect. Right wing Evangelical Dominonists love it. They think they’re allowed to start the Rapture all by themselves…another one of those 1:00 am theories…)

(I know they don’t bother to think about seniors, or my tribe, people with disabilities, so I don’t even bring us up here.  So many of us (myself included) won’t be able to pay rent if this goes down.)

This isn’t a lecture course, a reading assignment or a term paper…and there will not be a quiz.

We are not a game  or reality show Congress. You all work for us.

Please do your job.  And do it fast.

Leave a Reply

