The phenomenon of “Not (As) Tired, Not in as much Pain”

May 20, 2011 at 5:39 PM (Uncategorized)

Having a power chair has started to impress me.  Not just because I can go places, but because I don’t have to hurt while doing it…ankles, knees, hips don’t keep yelling at me.

While weight will always be a factor in this, I wasn’t always heavy…and it still hurt when I was a size 9.

When I would go shopping as a kid, or traveling as an adult, I propped myself up on crutches and was tired/in pain fairly quickly sometimes.

I know there will be/are already consequences to this less mobile sitting.

But the mental relief of not having to try to force the brain away from feeling pain, or not stressing feet or knees….

It’s big.  I like it.

I like being able to meander around the limits of my immediate neighborhood with my pain level not acting as a kind of clock with teeth: “You’ve got about five minutes, and then you HAVE to find a seat.”  …

3 Comments

  1. Attila the Mom said,

    Woohoo!

  2. Glynis Jolly said,

    Yep Jean, I know exactly what you’re talking about. There are days when I can’t leave the house even though I want to so bad. My mother-in-law gave me her walker to use when I go shopping. I can also sit in it and have someone push me. I want to stay on my feet as long as I can but it’s so nice to have this option now. It unleashes freedom for me.

    I bet you feel the same way.

  3. imfunny2 said,

    Yep. It’s the best.

Leave a Reply

