Excersizing restraint

December 28, 2010 at 10:53 AM (Uncategorized) (, , )

So, I have these sitting aerobics DVD’s that I’m doing…they really do push the heart rate up, slowly a bit at a time…The set will be really useful once I start adding in the strengnth training set. I’m only up to twenty minutes twice a week tho, and I need to add in that other day before they will really be of great benefit.

 

 

The woman who created these discs directed them specifically at people who need to lose 100 lbs or more, but have mobility or pain issues with standing exersise. She is great at her job.  A certified fitness trainer and mildly heavyset herself..this should be all good right?  Well, it’s not.  She has all this encouragetalk like they all do…sprinkled with politically correct body positive ‘affirmations.’  I’ve hated all that business since it came into general discussion of or views about mental or physical impairment…so off that volume goes.   Eventually I’m going to have to diagram the positions count the reps and not use the DVD’s themselves to excersize altogether, because even her constantly smiling face drives me insane, for no particular reason…

It’s good to be doing this, it appears to be helping but discussion about being happy at my particular body differences should at least wait until I’m out of my ‘ gym.’

After about four rounds of this, I’ve had to turn the sound off.  and just do the reps as I see them.

4 Comments

  1. Glynis Jolly said,

    Sitting aerobics? I wonder if I could do some of those? Is there a web site for this stuff? My balance is terrible so regular aerobics is out for me.

  2. imfunny2 said,

    Yep there is:

    Instead of linking to it though, email me at

    betwixtandbetween at gmail dot com and I’ll send it back to you 🙂

  3. bridgett said,

    I want to slap the lady on my yoga tape — she’s all “serene hands of fake yoga blessing” and I’m twisted up in my living room floor feeling idiotic and stabby.

    • imfunny2 said,

      Glad to know I’m not the only one going “Gah!” while watching exersize videos.

Leave a Reply

