Ada Adulation

July 29, 2010 at 12:28 PM (Uncategorized) (, , )

Thank you, Bush the first for signing it. (See? When confronted with the facts, I can play nice…)

Thank you Tom Harkin and all legislators that voted for it.

Without it, I wouldn’t have been able to keep my first health insurance job, or get the others…thus literally saving my husband’s and my ‘financial’ lives, at a time when that was vital.

Without it’s indirect influence I would not have visited accessible theaters, both film and live, accessible libraries, museums, church sanctuaries…some had to get accessible because of this law and some saw the writing on the wall and did it themselves.

But, 20 years later I still  I live in an apartment complex that has still denied me a bar in the bathroom. Previous buildings also denied it.

(here’s hoping I get a positive answer from apartment buildings already set up that way.)

And Rand Paul?  I wonder…if you ever became a wheelchair user thru accident or illness, would you quietly agree to work on the first floor of a building without an elevator or quietly listen to a play in the theater lobby?

I. Think. Not.

If  I was in the room with you now, wherever you are, I’d tell you in no uncertain terms to shut your lousy face about the ADA (Except I’d use curse words. And be unrepentant about them.)

And Mr. Jeb Bush?  You may be the GOP Dauphin and all that, but I’d imagine your father is a bit peeved at you for supporting a guy who spits on something your father signed.

Leave a Reply

