Tired…but good news is good…

May 10, 2010 at 12:15 PM (Uncategorized)

Apparently, my younger cousin just had some cool news to report.  She’s engaged, and happy about it.

I love this.  It’s fun thinking about a wedding etc. I’m just doing the happydance in my head, thinking about what they’ll wear, etc.

I also love that I can go to weddings now without a trace of sadness or regret.

For the first ten years after my husband died, I just couldn’t muster up the charity to be happy for someone else.  Yet more proof that at times in my life I couldn’t rise up against my own selfishness, grief or isolation.  (Sometimes I’m just not a Nice Person).

My eyes will well up a bit, missing him, but since many people cry at weddings, I don’t have to let on that these aren’t necessarily tears of joy.

But, I am happy and looking forward to this, even though it will be at least a year from now, perhaps more.

Leave a Reply

