Who was I supposed to be…

December 8, 2009 at 4:48 PM (Uncategorized)

Here’s a large clue…also a clue as to why my father could be annoying, even when sober…

He wanted a son.  A son to be an athlete.  A stockbroker…a banker…tall, charming, charismatic, able to influence others to do what would benefit him.

If anyone has seen the series “Mad Men” on AMC, he was a less successful version of that sort of man, early in his working life, and wanted a similar sort to carry on.

Thankfully (or not) for my paternal gene pool  my uncle and my cousin seem to have managed that.

I,  a woman, am far from that.

All I got was the charisma.

But thank goodness.  I didn’t get the name.

I was supposed to be called (in lieu of either Bret or Bart after the TV series “Maverick,” which my mother had vetoed…)

“Lance.”

2 Comments

  1. bridgett said,

    I was going to be Marc Antony. No shit. The movie had come out in 1963 and my mother thought Richard Burton was beyond hot. I’m actually relieved that she hadn’t seen Becket or I could have wound up Thomas.

Leave a Reply

