Why it pays to watch them all the way through

December 5, 2009 at 3:03 PM (Uncategorized)

I often scan TCM’s schedule for films of interest, since I’m a classic film junkie.

And I’d keep missing the entirety of one particular film. A film with two of the best sets of eyes in Hollywood. Cat On A Hot Tin Roof.

I’ll admit, I sometimes passed it up on purpose…

Tennesee Williams…his stuff seemed to always be about family destruction via alcohol and addiction I’d always think of the creepy, awful and despairing Suddenly Last Summer…since I’d been there and gotten that T Shirt, I figured why watch the stuff…

It’s got the Tennesee Williams elements:  Dysfunctional Southern family implodes after serious news about it’s patriarch, drinking etc, etc.

But it ends happily.   Which is one of the reasons. why you should watch it all the way through.

Another reason is the behind the scenes stuff.  Elizabeth Taylor had recently been widowed (If Mike Todd hadn’t died in a plane crash, she might never have gotten involved with Richard Burton…I can’t imagine that!)

She has said that she found working on “Cat” cathartic during her grieving.  Pulled out a great performance….

Leave a Reply

