Swing Vote

September 2, 2009 at 11:31 AM (Uncategorized) (, , )

Heath care reform is no pony, or piece of pie.  It is a part of “life liberty and the pursuit of happiness,”  Our right to real healthcare exists right now.

Except for the money, of course.

Since AHIP and other lobbying groups are controlling the debate right now, lets just roll over and call it “The AHIP We’ll get it through our community rating increases Health Care Bill”  Or for short LobbyistCare.

Some folks are discussing withholding their  funds and their GOTV efforts from Dems if this goes down. I’ll go one better.  No Democratic votes ever again.

Also No Republican votes, for obvious reasons.

I’ll vote for a third party that is closest to my own beliefs about these issues…

And when the wingnuts win, and they will again and scary crazy things happen…I’ll be resigned to it.  One voter (or evidently many more) can’t stand in the way of Republican willful ignorance, religious fanaticism and dreams of empire, as well as against centrist dems greed and capitulation at the same time.

It’s ironic.  My closest friend was studying for her PhD in Iowa just before the 2000 Election.  She was a committed Nader voter, and I tried to make the case for Gore, and she advised me simply that she believed local politics and her principles could lead to no other choice but Nader… I felt sad, voted for Gore…and we all know what came next.

But in the 2004 election, she worked for Dean tirelessly and understood the need to remove the Bush administration at all costs, and I was cheered by that.  It’s my understanding that we both voted for Obama in 08.

I never thought with Bush gone and Obama in the White House I would ever see myself taking her position.  I’m a pragmatist, so it suits my nature to vote for someone who has a chance of winning.

But if “winning” actually means “follow the money,” in regards to citizens health, and against the interests of said citizens health…

I’m done with the two major parties and I’m fine saying so.

I’m not sulking.  It’s a reasoned response to the political game as it is.

1 Comment

  1. bridgett said,

    I think a lot depends on the local situation. I’m in a state with a viable third-party option, thanks to the fusion voting system whereby a third-party can direct its progressive votes to progressives of either major party (which allows it, in close races, to gain influence to shift both major party platforms to the left). They can also run their own progressive candidates, which tends to make the major party candidate pay some attention in close races. It’s especially been useful as an electoral tool in primary campaigns here and judicial elections — if you ever wonder why NY jurists break somewhat more liberal…. (No wonder fusion voting is outlawed in 18 states. Here in NY, it was the way to break Tammany Hall and machine politics and so we’re protective of it.)

    I am pragmatic to a fault. Sometimes it is critical to vote for the lesser of the two evils, understanding that the greater is infinitely harmful to one’s own interests. In 2000, Iowa was out of play and was going for Gore in a major way; because national vote totals are meaningless in our electoral system, I did no harm to Gore by my vote because he carried my state handily. Instead, I voted for someone who was not going to win who spoke more closely to what I believed for my country. In so doing, I clearly told the Democratic Party that they’d have to move left if they wanted me back.

    I was a devoted Dean supporter. However, when Dean didn’t make the primary cut, I voted in the national election for Kerry (didn’t work for him, didn’t contribute to his campaign, so I was a passive supporter) because I knew that Bush was inimical to me and mine and I thought the vote in Iowa would be closer than it proved to be. The stakes seemed much higher in that election and I did not seriously consider voting for the Green Party candidate at that time.

    In 2008, a team of former Dean people (who learned the ropes of local campaigning and small-ball on-line fundraising) and energized pissed off progressives turned out en masse to help Obama out-organize McCain. His campaign rhetoric (more than his actions in the presidency) spoke to those alienated voters that his people knew were out there — the righteous progressive swing voter. Unfortunately, he then immediately appointed all the old Clinton people and partied like it was 1993. To keep those voters that turned to him for hope, he’ll have to do a hell of a lot better than he’s doing now.

    Anyhow, to me, I see that backing progressive/fringe mainstream/third-party candidates can culminate in slowly swinging the major party pendulum. If that’s not a pragmatic act (in the face of otherwise being complicit in putting in office men that wouldn’t piss on me if I were on fire), then I don’t know what is. Ultimately, what good is the right to vote if one cannot be true to one’s conscience?

Leave a Reply

