Self Protective…

May 14, 2009 at 4:32 PM (Uncategorized)

so much coming down right now….I have declared a moratorium on all serious decision making about anything (except a possible dog).

The future is scary, the present is a holding pattern, and lonesomeness is pushing in a difficult direction.

I figure anyone who has lost their job in the last seven months must be going through a lot of the same stuff.

But, the weather is good. I may manage a hair cut this weekend.

I cannot understate the effect of the impulse to flee to home ground. It won’t help. I’m not doing it (I leave home rarely which is a contraindication to moving.) But the impulse is dragging my mood down.

2 Comments

  1. bridgett said,

    Good plan. Sometimes it’s wise to be Entish about everything…nothing too hasty. For the first few years after I moved here, I thought I would die from missing Iowa and it still comes and goes; there are places that sing your heartsong and sometimes it does seem like moments spent elsewhere are foolish wastes, despite the necessities that impel us to live halfway across the country. So I totally hear you on thinking often about a place where things would be better and easier, especially when the “where you are” is not great either mentally or actually. When those moods hit me, I have to force myself to think about what small thing I can do to make life where I am more enjoyable, even if it’s just that haircut you mentioned.

    • imfunny2 said,

      šŸ™‚ Thank you.

      Also talked with MyFriendTheArtist tonight and he was cheerful.

Leave a Reply

