“It’s Amazing that She Can Do That.”

May 11, 2009 at 9:49 AM (Uncategorized)

Unapoligectically I will say I’m smart. Always have been. The depression may be eroding a few IQ points off the top, but not enough to matter yet.

But, being smart can get you a cup of coffee at Denny’s.

And even your fellow brainiacs can disbelieve or disrespect your mental muscle.

There was a college thing…a sort of poor man’s Jeopardy called “College Bowl.”

I made the cut at my college just as I had made the cut on the local high school quiz show.

My team won in high school and my College Bowl team made a credible showing in the college team competition….(tellingly whipping the backsides of a team of a guy that rejected me. Heh ) I was not the reason the college team lost….but

There was a dormroom discussion afterword *where I was present* and one of the guys said “It’s amazing that she can do that.”

But it wasn’t a compliment. These guys were Mythbuster type scientifigeeks and they clearly saw my ability to pull up answers as a quirk, a sport, a characteristic of my impairment, therefore not as valuable as mental facility from an able bodied person (man? did gender also have to do with it?) I mentioned rather snarkily that I *was* in the room thankyouverymuch, and that my showing was not some fascinating freaky aberration. They shut up, chastened.

My high school teammates were a bit astounded, but didn’t dissect it, just were pleased to have the firepower there.

My sig, over on another board would appear here at the bottom of every post, if WordPress allowed sigs:

I’m smart. I’m watching. And I won’t shut up.

2 Comments

  1. bridgett said,

    I’m not as quick as I used to be at recall, but I like to think that I have more to recall now. Maybe not. I don’t feel as smart as I used to, when smartitude just crackled through me on a good day like bottled lightning ready to set something on fire. Now a lot of my day is spent driving people to and from places, checking unit prices on boxes of pasta, and other mundane crap that hits women in their middle years. It’s not clear whether I still have the capacity to start a fire (but just need a lens to focus through) or whether I will just have to trust that I’ve got some embers banked. I will say that my team has won our college’s Clash of the Minds event two years running (thanks to me knowing stupid stuff like “what’s the longest NASCAR race?” and “what color is a polar bear’s skin?”), so I’m not exactly drooling into a cup or anything.

    • imfunny2 said,

      Part of it *is* like the old saw about riding a bike, even in midlife….but yes mundane stuff tends to push the interesting finds and retentions out….

Leave a Reply

