I’m a controlling jerk.

April 7, 2009 at 7:24 PM (Uncategorized) (, )

First, why…

When married, the husband had his terminal ilness on speedial to the land of denial…I could see things happening and he’d be all “No, nothing’s wrong don’t worry about it, it will be fine….” ad nauseum…

And I can’t unclench the memory of how frustrated I was then.

The roomate, a good friend and rent-splitter, has no ties to me, other than that friendship.

The roomate has diabetes….while they do use glucophage, they don’t test or follow their blood sugar. Like another best friend with uncontrolled diabetes (The ArtistFromCentralOhio) I’ve discussed the folly of not monitoring their blood sugar with them….One. Time. I know they know what they’re not doing, and they aren’t twelve.
They came home ill, nauseous, and other more unpleasant symptons.

They got weaker and weaker. They got dizzy. I asked them to go to the ER.

“I don’t want to go to the hospital.” Then a round of really scary throwing up, etc etc later, I said, “You are going to the hospital *right now.*” Look of astonishment, with a healthy mix of annoyance…after all who died and left me God? But, they waited about thirty seconds and they agreed but were too weak to drive. So 911 was called, and they are on their way to the ER as I type this.

I just can’t freaking let it go. Anyone in my orbit who wants to ignore a chronic condition…and a wierd ramp up of symptoms….Nope, I won’t stay quiet and let it escalate until it’s way worse at 3:00 am or something…I’m not doing that waking up at the dead of night again and sending anybody off to the hospital when their in six hours worse shape than now…

So, I’m an ass. And I’ll be happy to be proven wrong if it is a minor deal…

5 Comments

  1. Attila the Mom said,

    Oh yikes. Let me know how it’s going!

  2. Attila the Mom said,

    And no, you’re not an ass. Tell your roommate how unpleasant it would be to wake up with a corpse in the apartment. If she doesn’t want to monitor her blood sugar for herself, at least she could be considerate it and do it for you. 😉

    xo

    • imfunny2 said,

      She came home and went “Oh, it’s (another medical condition ) that I forgot about….

  3. bridgett said,

    What some people think is control, other people perceive as common sense and caring.

    • imfunny2 said,

      Come on now… 🙂 You used to be my roomie and you know how nutty I got sometimes.

Leave a Reply

