What does the stim hang on, really?

February 13, 2009 at 6:05 PM (Uncategorized) ()

After the Senate vote, Republican Arlen Specter relates this telling discussion…

h/t to Huffington

“When I came back to the cloak room after coming to the agreement a week ago today,” said Specter, “one of my colleagues said, ‘Arlen, I’m proud of you.’ My Republican colleague said, ‘Arlen, I’m proud of you.’ I said, ‘Are you going to vote with me?’ And he said, ‘No, I might have a primary.’ And I said, ‘Well, you know very well I’m going to have a primary.'”

(Republics call it the “Democrat’ Party, as if that was a slur and not the actual name, the “Democratic” party… so Republics it will be.)

I really want Republics to have to go back to their districts if job losses continue to rise and when asked why they didn’t vote for the stim, it won’t be for the limited govt ideology… They will have to look their constituents in the eye and say

“I said no because I might have a primary. ”
And I expect conservative Dems to join with Republics in running away just as fast from single payor health care when it comes up.

2 Comments

  1. PhilosopherCrip said,

    I hope, if Specter loses the primary, he has the guts to run as an Independent. I think his courage in this case could pay of and keep him in the chamber, no matter what the conservative Republican’t primary voters say. This is especially true for a blue collar state like PA.

    • imfunny2 said,

      That’s my hope as well….but my understanding of his rep has been that during the early parts of his term(s) he can swim against the tide, and as elections near, he tends to move back towards his party’s line…. But ever since he’s had cancer, I’ve noticed he takes less **** from people who disagree with him, left or right

Leave a Reply

