Running

February 7, 2009 at 8:22 PM (Uncategorized) (, , )

My way of running could be done summer  when I was on my feet. I hated the physical therapists’ insistence of the ‘right’ way of walking, left crutch right foot, right crutch left foot.

“Why,” I thought, “why wait for this when my way is so much faster?”

I was much lighter, and had recently come off a summer of swimming my freshman year of college, and the best, most fun way to get across the two block wide spaces was to do a kind of bastard child of downhill and cross country skiing moves, with my feet as the skis and my crutches as the poles.

I had originally discovered this in the 8th grade, during a one year return to gimp school.  A good friend at the time with a similar impairment had figured out a fast move in the gym that I just could not muster….”There’s got to be a faster move,”  ” There’s *got* to be a way to keep up with her.”

She was the athlete in the crowd, and all the boys whistled at her.

And then, all of a sudden I was pushing and swinging around the bases, and no one whistled at *me.*  They, and the instructor advised that they saw this as ‘cheating.’  [WTF?  *She* used her crutches too?!] Well, whenever I get labeled like that, fairly or not, I tend to get a bit…mulish? Uncooperative? Stubborn? So, from that point …

One push off with my arms and then a leap of my body weight in the right  direction, when my feet hit the ground, push again jump, push jump, twist and turn…it was quicker than the other, and I thought, cooler..

That was for the dry pavement, spring, summer, fall.

In winter, I slogged around with the rest, and didn’t risk the flamboyant jumps…..

I miss that running.  I might be able to do it in two years….

But it was cool…

2 Comments

  1. Attila the Mom said,

    Why couldn’t you just go with whatever worked for you? Why was it considered “cheating”?

    That sounds so….well stupid, if you know what I mean. LOL

  2. imfunny2 said,

    The authority figures at the gimp school knew, of course, that those of us who could walk would have a longer time on our feet. Less muscle atrophy over time.
    My method didn’t push the legs to work *at all,* comparatively speaking the arms were the main motivators.

Leave a Reply

