A mean-spirited litte ditty…

January 19, 2009 at 8:59 AM (Uncategorized) (, , , )

I’ve been trying not to be as cutting and nasty as I can…

But there’s a different point to me posting the YouTube bit you’re about to see than the subject of the piece.

In the mid and late 70’s I was a Harry Chapin Groupie.

Oh, I liked James Taylor, Eagles, Joni Mitchell, Billy Joel fine…Harry Chapin was different…I was a serious groupie (not as serious as my late cousin who had his song lyrics posted all over her room, as if the stanza’s merited a Tiger Beat cover…. I introuduced her to his work, so I admit to creating that particular monster…)

A songwriter who was unabashed about his voice, but utterly committed to his lyrics. You had to *think* to get them, there were so many levels.

And he would take a moment and sing something merely funny, sometimes.

“30,000 of Bananas” and “Dance Band On The Titanic,” come to mind…

I hate to think what he would have written about Iraq

And I know I would have been proud of what he wrote about 9/11…had he been around.

Heart Attack in 1981 saved him from having to write about the last decade or so….

But his brother Tom Chapin is saying goodbye to Sarah Palin…

6 Comments

  1. hymes said,

    Harry Chapin was killed by a truck in an accident. His family finally got a good settlement from the trucking company. Met him at his grandfather’s house once with his brother very briefly, his grandfather was an amazing man, lived to 96, drank until 92 or so, smoked into his 50’s, literary critic, philosopher, editor of the Dial back in the day, scholar without even a bachelor’s degree, absolutely brilliant and absolutely his own man always.

  2. imfunny2 said,

    Hmm, my understanding at the time was that he was hit by a truck, but a heart attack he had during the accident played into it…..

    That’s great info about his grandfather, too. In some of the biographical stuff I’ve read about Harry Chapin and his brothers they all said that the amazing life of their grandfather proved a bit difficult to live up to…

  3. 1/17-Sarah Palin Models the new PCW Jersey « Political Championship Wrestling said,

    […] Sarah Palin Artwork by ‘The One and Only’ Alejendro Del Nombre – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –   […]

  4. hymes said,

    You’re probably right about the heart attack, I was so blown away at the time my memory is probably inaccurate. Harry helped his grandfather keep his pond free of moss. I can’t imagine trying to live up to K.B’s life. He still inspires me all these years later and I still read his poetry for comfort and inspiration in dark times. He was a life long insomniac too. My dad met him in graduate school before I was born and we visited regularly as a family into my 20’s, he even met my ex and was very nice to her.

  5. hymes said,

    Oops,I meant into my 30’s, not 20’s.

  6. Attila the Mom said,

    snarf. Thanks for the giggle!

Leave a Reply

