Friend in town

June 10, 2008 at 12:35 PM (Uncategorized) (, , )

Damn, it’s good to have someone to talk to…face to face, three dimensional, like the old days…I think the art of good face to face conversation nourishes the spirit.

I’m atypical.  I’ve kept in close touch with two male friends from high school and a college roomate.

We’re scattered all over, but email, phone and in person, we always seem to pick up right where we left off. We all have history, lengthy but in most cases remarkably uncomplicated.  They love me and I love them, and if any one of us called at one in the morning and said “I need to talk,” they’d probably comply.

Someone whose jokes are too obtuse for anyone but the two of us.

Who still smiles the same way (the first thing that drew me to him…when I was in the “have a crush on anybody” stage.)

Who understands the complexity of my relationship with my maternal parent.

Who knows enough to go to the fridge and get his own Coke.

Who understands the lure of black-and-white movies….and agrees that “Now, Voyager” is quite a find.

Yes we’re weird.

Playing like five year olds at a favorite restaurant….

And having conversations like…

Him: “I think I want to be cremated, it’s less stress…But I can’t have my ashes spread in all my favorite places…it’s not like you can give your friends a nickel bag here and a nickel bag there…”

“Well, where is your favorite place?

“You mean other than Ashtabula?”

[fit of laughter]

“I wish you lived closer,” he says.

I do too.

He may be back over at my house tonight and/or tomorow.

1 Comment

  1. Emily said,

    Friends that share your same sense of humor are the best! Especially those friends that you can talk about anything with, and have the most ridiculous conversations that others would think are completely crazy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

