The only Belmont…

June 7, 2008 at 1:43 PM (Uncategorized) (, )

I was one of those horse nuts and for at least three years after this race I had riding lessons at one of those riding places for those with mobility impairments–walking up a ramp to get on from above the saddle….I even managed very low jumps before a fall scared my parents into pulling me out of the lessons.

I attempted to link to  but it is not working… go to Youtube and type in “Belmont” “1973” and “Secretariat.”

What I love about it purely as a sports video is that it will take a long long time for any horse to best that distance between first and second place. It’s not like the twenty or thirty years it takes humans to make the old records look slow and tiresome. There’s only so much tech improvement you can do to tracks, and breeding a staying runner like that again may take as long as a century, or never happen at all.

“Planned Obsolesence” is much harder to jam into horseracing.

1 Comment

  1. Tonya @ A Day in the Life of a MaMa said,

    I always loved horse riding but I was too chicken to try racing. I was the one afraid of falling 🙂

Leave a Reply

