I found her late…

June 6, 2008 at 12:45 PM (Uncategorized) (, , )

It was 2006….I had heard of her speaking engagements before, particularly her engagements with Peter Singer…

But, since I ‘passed’ for able, in the 1970’s through 2004 mostly because that was both expected of me and often the easiest way out…

I didn’t know much about the disability rights journey in the US….

But I started reading and looking and found out about Harriet McBryde Johnson, Justin Dart, others….

I did not know her.

But I miss her literary voice, from “Too Late to Die Young…” She was a comfort. An intimidating brilliant comfort.

Someone who stepped up and demanded respect as an absolute.

She passed away this week and our world is too quiet now.

Leave a Reply

