Return Engagement

April 19, 2008 at 11:45 AM (Uncategorized)

Someone close has been dealing with depression for a great while…and by a great while I mean longer than months or years.

A respite, a breathing spell from it has happened, and no one expected it.

It’s those unexpected good things that make quite an impact.

I have no expectations of the length of this respite. It doesn’t matter.

It was one of the lessons my marriage taught me.

It isn’t about length of time. It’s about quality.

The person reached out, and communicated with me in the old way, very nearly as they used to.

Seeming like *themselves*

A ten minute conversation.

But I spoke carefully and tried to bolster the cheerfulness, like a tiny fire started and increasing a bit as more tinder or kindling came on….

And, even if it’s the *only* conversation for another great while…

There were in-jokes, and nostalgia and laughing and detailed descriptions of new things seen and discovered.

And we both said “I love you” at the end of the conversation.

I’m pleased that I managed my part in that.

Like discovering a mini candy bar in your pocket, and having one…

I’ve now seen three miracles in my life.

I just didn’t expect to see the third in my sweats and t-shirt inbetween paying bills and doing the dishes…

These things happen. These good things.

Update: for veracity’s sake…

It was a month long, and it was the longest time they’ve spent connected to the world in a great while, and I’m still very pleased about it, even though the person has slipped right back to previous behaviors.

Dammit.

3 Comments

  1. bridgett said,

    Aw….terrific. (I’m such a softie that I’m tearing up over here.)

  2. seahorse said,

    That was simply and beautifully written. And I’m a bit teary too.

  3. Attila the Mom said,

    That just gave me the biggest smile!

    xo

Leave a Reply

