I have to go edit today…

January 1, 2008 at 9:45 AM (Uncategorized)

Something that might get published elswhere…

Part of the editing process is marvelous, because you have this  “A ha!  I never thought of that particular linkage or way of relating one part of what they’ve asked for to another part…How cool! How interesting!”  But then there’s the “What? but *no!* They don’t really think *that* do they…Oh, dear…”

How to fit the very things I feel important into the format and framework of what these people want…

And how to be a good contributor, give them what they want, while I have a sneaking suspicion that they may have misuderstood no small part of the source material, let alone my take on it…

To feel misinterpreted and misunderstood…is this what *every* offline writer goes through when their stuff is sent for submission?

Off to chop up and cut and paste.

4 Comments

  1. Attila the Mom said,

    Yippee! Keeping my fingers crossed for you!

  2. bridgett said,

    Yes, you’ve identified the nature of the editorial relationship. That’s why I’m a good editor and not so great at having my work edited; I hate acknowledging that I haven’t been as clear as I thought I had been. But that’s why writing is work and not telepathy and I’ve come to appreciate that if I have trouble communicating with a very highly knowledgeable and employed-to-be-attentive reader, then maybe I needed another pass at clarification.

    If you think they are misunderstanding the source material, then it’s on you to argue for your interpretation mit der evidence and shiznit. You know the drill…

  3. bridgett said,

    Oh, and I forgot to add that I’m very happy that you’re working this up for publication…John’s doing another piece for the same volume (new article) and he too is doing the editorial dance. I guess it’s good to know, from his perspective, that everyone gets beaten around the head and ears a little.

  4. pacostnwy said,

    “A writer’s best friend is his [or her] wastebasket.”

    George Santayana (some dead poet guy) said this. It’s very hard to swallow sometimes (at least for me) but it’s ultimately true.

Leave a Reply

