In the spirit of giving…

December 15, 2007 at 2:35 PM (Uncategorized) (, )

This is my families’ recipie for Christmas Cookies… My maternal grandmother made them (I don’t know where she acquired the recipie, but thank goodness she did…) and passed it down to my mother, myself and my aunt. They sound just like any other sugar cookie but they’re not! The three secrets:

1. Get a good cookie-roller outer to roll those to 1-16th of an inch. The thinner, the tastier.

2. Enough real vanilla in the cookies and the frosting…

3. The milk as part of the frosting…

So, here’s the recipe:

Cookie Dough


1 cup soft butter
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg

Mix together thoroughly.

Stir in 3 tsp. flavoring (I use vanilla as did my grandmother, but you can use lemon, almond, etc.)

3 cups flour
1/2 tsp baking powder

Sift together and stir in to butter mixture.

Chill dough. Roll very thin. Cut into desired shapes. Place on ungreased cookie sheet. Grandmother’s recipe says 425 for 5 – 7 minutes, but I do it at 400 for 5 minutes to start and longer if they need it. I don’t like them to get brown. I get 65 – 80 from a batch, but you may get less if you make them thicker.

Butter Cream Frosting

Basic Recipe

3 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup soft butter
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
3 TBS milk

When cookies have been baked, cool them on paper…hold them and frost with a very small spatula or butterknife, (leaving them on a table means cracked cookies) and sprinkle with the colored sugar of your choice, depending on the holiday–I like interchanging (or mixing) red, green and blue colored sugar on top of the buttercream frosting.

Summertime version, only recently permitted…

roll and cut them using a drinking glass..bake, frost and enjoy, no holiday shape or color required

5 Comments

  1. bridgett said,

    My mom’s recipe is very similar — it’s the yummest cookie ever.

  2. imfunny2 said,

    The aunt is sending me a tin of them “But they’ll be all broken,” she says….I’m saying…

    Who Cares…

    Yum

  3. imfunny2 said,

    I’m also interested, what’s your mom’s variation??? And what did you get on your wonderful birthday?

  4. Attila the Mom said,

    Yum yum YUM!

  5. bridgett said,

    I got a piece of Kid’s leftover birthday cake and a whole lot of grading. Poor pitiful me. Well, that plus Steve Martin’s new memoir and a trip to a favorite restaurant….so it wasn’t sooooooo terrible. Just more work than usual, since my sabbatical application was due and I had been working too much to complete it prior to the last minute.

Leave a Reply

