A difficult thing to read, understand and admit…

December 15, 2007 at 2:59 PM (Uncategorized) (, , , )

Adults with disabilities/impairments are not safe.  I’m not talking about neglect or overt abuse…  We cannot move about without risking problems.  We cannot always speak our minds because others *assume* they know what’s best…

There are so many situations that we can come into that prove we are not safe…

Here, where the simple act of making a necessary medical decision can be misread or ignored from someone with no cognitive impairment whatsoever…

And here,    (LiveJournal Account required) where the able don’t stop at taking our spaces, they go several steps further…

Or, early in the summer when any mobility I had was taken away from me in the hospital “for my own good” for ten hours….

Do these and incidents like them mean our independence is some fragile piece of art that can be knocked over by the first careless art lover or “dissapeared” in a moment…?

It does feel that way sometimes.

2 Comments

  1. Attila the Mom said,

    Ok, I can’t help myself. I got distracted by the whole “Christ on a Cracker” debate and have been laughing myself silly! 😉

  2. imfunny2 said,

    Yes, I had the same initial reaction…then I read the rest and stopped laughing….

Leave a Reply

