Well, *that* was underwelming

November 23, 2007 at 7:58 PM (Uncategorized)

So, stiff upper lip, away from family and by myself on T-day, had some fun with films et al…because we had a reservation at a decent place that stayed open on the holiday …

I never ate that turkey

I never ate that stuffing

I never had a salad or a bit of cranberry…

Because…

The ‘accessible’ apartment is on the second floor.

The elevator in my building was not working.

Everytime this happens (there have been three to five incidents in the last year.)

Safety comes to mind. If there was a fire or other damage, I could not exit the building.

It’s not so much that I couldn’t go some artificial place to eat,

I don’t like my freedom of movement curtailed by ….they need to take the elevator out and rebuild the s-o-b- from the ground up.

I can’t move out until August of 2009. But by gawd, I’ll be going then.

6 Comments

  1. Attila the Mom said,

    Well crud! I’m so sorry to hear that!

  2. Rhea said,

    That is terrible. IT is a safety concern.

  3. bridgett said,

    SUCK! Sorry. Dammit.

  4. lovelander said,

    Sorry to hear that. Sucks.

  5. qw88nb88 said,

    I’m still trying to figure out how putting an apartment on the second floor is one of the things that makes it “accessible” …

  6. imfunny2 said,

    It has a steel door that the others do not, flat carpet suitable for wheelchair rolling that the others don’t, a roll in shower, a broken open kitchen that I can navigate through and stock (but not *cook in* since they left the counter and stovetops at able-bodied height….) So, half a loaf is better than none….

    Given what goes on in this complex and it’s parking lot on weekend evenings, perhaps the folks that put these suites in were thinking of safety of a different sort , and just never imagined that the single elevator in the building would every have chronic monthly/weekly **ckups.

Leave a Reply

