At Table

November 21, 2007 at 5:49 PM (Uncategorized)

This year I have no plans for tomorow…I’m going out and eating some turkey after roomate gets off work…

But even though I’m horribly lonesome….I have to laugh.

Because of the gravy.

I have no idea what age I was.  It was before I hit my teens.

There was the usual the jiggly cranberry with the can imprint or my ex aunt’s exhaustive but yummy cranberry relish that was much more labor intensive and tastier

Homemade whipped cream and pumpkin pie handled with master chef precision by my mother.

Excellent sage stuffing, in those days prepared in the bird, and then after when that was found to be dangerous in a separate dish…

And did we have the horrid milky casserole that *everyone I know* has some version of: green beans, cream of mushroom soup and the crunchy onions that year?  I’m not certain.  I was made to eat that on more than one occasion.  It’s not really food.  It’s evil and should be forgotten.

But, the gravy was either almost clear, or very oddly light brown…and to the perfectionist in the house, it should have been a deeper brown…so….

Green food coloring was added to the gravy. So, the gravy went from wimpy to pea soup green in a matter of moments.

You know those moments when someone you love has done something *hilarious* but you are actually trying to understand their side and *not burst out laughing* about it?

I tried.  I tried the year it happened and was unsuccessful.

I’ve tried in years since not to burst out laughing when her sister tells it, and failed too.

And either that year or another, the turkey went from cold to burnt in less than 40 minutes because the meat thermometer was invaded by poltergeists or something.

I laughed at the time…because *every* thanksgiving cook has a story like that, and should forgive themselves…

We laughed about it and didn’t blame Mom…

(I have no shame about my lack of kitchen skillz as a teen and will someday tell the story of the green eggs scramble, or the soup that got vaccumed up with a new vaccum cleaner)

But for her, I’d imagine that it’s now one of the things she takes to heart and suffers over.

I guess that I think there’s *more* to celebrate if you don’t take your mistakes so seriously…

1 Comment

  1. Attila the Mom said,

    Hey now, no dissin’ on the green bean casserole! LOL

    Green gravy? Sounds like a Dr. Seuss nightmare! 😉

Leave a Reply

