Third Saturday Night Short Post

September 15, 2007 at 6:52 PM (Writing)

It’s rather nerve wracking to submit something to an academic call for papers…especially when you aren’t an academic….But I’m pleased to have done the research (even though this relatively simple piece meant dusting off parts of my own brain and researching *within my own memory* after going to outside sources for baseline stuff. It’s been a fun little experience during an otherwise hellish week…even if it doesn’t pass muster. The first draft felt far too much like blogging, so I dusted off some bigger, more formal words.   It’s been nineteen years since I was an academic so I’m not as fluent in that dialect as I used to be..quite rusty in fact….but it still felt too informal when I sent it off…and awkward but correct to try to apply the Social Model of Disability to material that was first created long before the Social Model was firmed up and finalized. Not my first success, but my first attempt at success. You can’t win if you don’t play…

1 Comment

  1. bridgett said,

    Yes! Yes, Yes, Yessitty, Yes, YES! I’m so glad you’ve given this a shot. Keep me posted about how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

