It’s hard out there for an able…

September 2, 2007 at 2:36 PM (Uncategorized) ()

Sometimes, I take a virtual stroll around the wider, able blogosphere…and then I run back in here and hide.

Via “The Hill” Tancredo makes me ashamed to be a Coloradan *yet again,* when he should be blowing hard over this *actual* waste instead (Via friend Attilla’s blog)

And then, the endless chewing over whether or not housework is a feminist issue (it is)  that I suppose has to be done over at Feministing.

I wonder, politically incorrectly,  about the able in these arguuments, or political posts,  or being caught in insane greed or lenghtly ideological discussions…

Have they ever been abandoned by a family member because they were ‘too different’ ? (and I don’t mean emotional unavailability although that is a truly painful one) …I mean actually, physically left to the mercy of strangers, because the family couldn’t handle a disability

Have they ever been unable to get or keep a job?

Have they ever *really* been completely off the market as a  potential romantic partner? (although one of the players above is certainly off *my* list.  Feh, ugh. Shiver)

Have they been made virtually invisible by body size or physical diference?

No?  Really?  Truly?

Then…

There are days when, as uncharitable, and unprogressive and unkind as it sounds that I wish the subset of the able who haven’t yet thought of becoming our allies, the whining able,  since  they often resist the inclusion of real disability activism  as a ’cause’ they’ll fight for…

Would just shut the ***** up.

They think they have it so bad.

They have no freaking idea.

3 Comments

  1. bridgett said,

    I decided a long time ago that I really could only manage one cause. Once you get down to the brass tacks, you either believe that humans (all humans, everywhere) should be treated with justice, decency, receive equal treatment under law and equal opportunities to realize their full human potential, and deserve to live in peace in conditions of sustainable and just economic development — or you don’t. If you do, that makes things fairly simple. If you don’t, then you can subdivide and temporize and decide that your particular little corner is more important or should come before those “other, surely important but not so much to me personally” issues.

    So that’s why I decided to just take on one cause. Sure, it’s pretty big, but I think it just about covers everything I need to address.

  2. Ranter said,

    The most frustrating thing in dealing with non-disabled, is that they, for the most part, can’t really get it. Some try, and some sort of get it, but until you experience something, you can’t truly get it 100%. So for that very reason, we will continue to be seen as the whiners, the socially inept, the awkward ones, and in a sense, that is very much what we are. I really hate when people who couldn’t possibly have a clue about my experience try to relate. As if having a broken leg could give them any indication of what being permanently disabled is like. As if having a dating dry spell of a few years could compare to being “completely off the market”. Even my very close friends continue to ask how my dating life is, as if it has ups and downs. It’s not even remotely comparable to any of theirs and sometimes I, too, wish they’d just shut the hell up. Sigh.

  3. Attila the Mom said,

    Yep, yep and yep.

    In a law class I’m currently taking online, the topic is the excuse the defense is using for a man in Douglas County who chained his girlfriend to the back of his truck and dragged her to death. According to the defense, the accused is both mentally disabled and mentally ill.

    The question posed by the professor was asking our opinions of the defense strategy considering that the accused was sane and able enough to form intent, premeditate, execute the act, and know the consequences. It’s obvious that the accused is mildly, if at all, impaired cognitively.

    The vitriol from some of the other students towards those who genuinely have either mental illness or disabilities kind of shocked me. One said, “yeah, if I could call myself a retard and get A’s in all my classes, I’d do it in a heartbeat”. Others tossed around the “retard” label liberally.

    I responded both to the group and to the professor privately. Obviously none of these people have loved ones in either situation or have impairments themselves.

    I wish they could walk a few miles in my sons’ shoes. 😦

Leave a Reply

