What flavor is forgiveness…

August 14, 2007 at 7:39 PM (Uncategorized)

(not a religious discussion)

There are two people, one once related to me and not related to me now, and one who I was in a relationship with at one time…. that I haven’t forgiven yet.

I don’t think this is my decade to forgive those two people, although their offenses against me are (compared to some other things other people have pulled) relatively minor…

But…for the ones I am trying to forgive…I just got to a point that the *not* forgiving was hurting me more than it would ever prove a point to them, for some of the bigger stuff…

So maybe that’s it.  When you are not hurting, and you have a moment of objectivity and you say “Damn.  *Not* forgiving is ***** me up more that forgiving would.  So, for *me* my future sanity…I start on the forgiving thing.

It will never mean my guard is not up.  Boundaries still exist.

“Forgive and Forget” I believe to be *physically* impossible for me, because of the ways I had to train my memory to learn things….

But, “Forgive and Let Go”, while still maintaining a very clear picture of what was done, yeah, eventually I manage that.

My best friend recently accused me of becoming compassionate in my old age.

Gawd, I hope not.

Leave a Reply

