October, it seems is awareness month

October 15, 2006 at 10:30 AM (Uncategorized) ()

for PWD’s

It seems that awareness first = increased discomfort. “You talk about your disability all the time,” as if that were inappropriate. and “all the time” has averaged about 15 minutes daily, during the last four weeks…evidently it is not inappropriate to discuss economics, race, children, budgets, texting….and the subject matter at hand…but disability as a matter of discussion…inappropriate. “I know you can’t see very well, so…”

Huh? The good eye is 20/40 with glasses and handles everything, so I have to stop someone and clearly delineate that just because I have “lazy eye,” the impairment to my vision is not something that has ever hindered me enough to notice.

Accessibility can mutate 3x too. Where is the best place to hold lectures? Here. No, here, and don’t bother to email everyone about the change(s) of venue.

And I’ve already been told that if there are things (not even discussed here, difficult personal matters not mentioned here) that are going wrong with my family or economics or personal life, that my likelihood of sucess is zip. Only the serenely untroubled, it seems can succeed. It’s either going to blow up now, or in December. I have no other choices.

I know this is cryptic and non specific. I plead necessity.

2 Comments

  1. bridgett said,

    This concurs with my thesis on American misperceptions of what it means to be tolerant. They don’t accept difference. They want to ignore difference (and anyone different from themselves) so that they never have to do the work of figuring out what equity demands. If we’re all just equal (that is, just like me), then what I want ought to just about do it for you. It’s considered rude to point out that we are not, in point of fact, just alike and because of that, identical treatment is not the same as equal treatment. (Though for some things, it would be a step in the right direction.)

    I hate those little observational bulletins that pass as conversation-fodder: “Did you know that you have a big hair growing out of your nose? It’s…unusual.” What the hell are people thinking?! There’s no way that this sort of thing doesn’t come off as catty and demeaning. It’s not really a friendly act. Passive aggressive crap drives me nuts.

    If you think I can help or if you just want to vent privately, contact me off-list.

  2. bridgett said,

    This concurs with my thesis on American misperceptions of what it means to be tolerant. They don’t accept difference. They want to ignore difference (and anyone different from themselves) so that they never have to do the work of figuring out what equity demands. If we’re all just equal (that is, just like me), then what I want ought to just about do it for you. It’s considered rude to point out that we are not, in point of fact, just alike and because of that, identical treatment is not the same as equal treatment. (Though for some things, it would be a step in the right direction.)

    I hate those little observational bulletins that pass as conversation-fodder: “Did you know that you have a big hair growing out of your nose? It’s…unusual.” What the hell are people thinking?! There’s no way that this sort of thing doesn’t come off as catty and demeaning. It’s not really a friendly act. Passive aggressive crap drives me nuts.

    If you think I can help or if you just want to vent privately, contact me off-list.

Leave a Reply

