On the Castle Steps

May 7, 2006 at 12:12 PM (Friends) ()

During college some of my classes were held in buildings that were rather inacessible, older frame houses refit with lecture rooms on the first floor.

I stumbled on some stone steps, and another student asked me if I needed assistance.

From that was a three hour conversation of just getting to know someone, followed up by attendance at the class in that room for the rest of the quarter, able to multitask by paying attention during  “The Death of Ivan Illych” [no mean feat] and openly passing notes whilst the prof lectured. It was a magic castle, the whole place…

You have friends, in life that you have gotten to know very well. You can say nearly anything to them, get over snits easily, complete each others sentences, and get on with their friends. She became such a friend, and if I could give honor medals to people who *stayed around* when it got tough, she would get one.

We ended up roommates the next year, immersed in writing,history,and the usuall parts of college socializing, (drinking, drama, men) not to mention singing and/or acting.

She’s a classic overachiever, and I’m viewed alternately as damn physically lazy/and or inspring. ( I cop to the physical laziness) We were supposed to become educators, which she has handled amazingly well. I didn’t, but honestly I don’t know if I would have enjoyed my life as an old maid librarian/historian. (Luckily for her, she’s managed it without the ‘old maid ‘part) My *work* yes. That would have been great. But my life??? Hmm I don’t know. (I do wish someone had been able to diagnose my chemical depression/bipolar/anxiety thing before college. Would have saved a deal of grief. But oh well.)

I’m writing about her today because I need to praise those folks in my life who have put up with the prickly part and stayed my friends. It’s tough. I’m not easy to handle sometimes.

An entirely different friend who ( unintentionally) did me ill, I found on the net today…and I wish this friend well and have nothing but good wishes for them, but…the experience of being their friend did not do me much good and I’m wrestling with old anger that needs to be put down…that neither me, nor the other friend needs or wants.

So I thought, to push the anger away I would write about someone who I absolutely know would *never* do me ill, and has been a great source of encouragement and support, someone who has changed, but not so much that we cannot reconnect or stay connected. Someone whose presence in my life continues to reinforce that idea that I’m okay just as I am.

Thanks bridgett.

4 Comments

  1. bridgett said,

    Aaaaw. I’m touched. When did I get to be such a softie?

    I believe I gave *you* a medal lovingly crafted out of the foil insides of a PopTart wrapper during the best practical joke ever played. Remember — “God Loves You and So Do I.”

  2. bridgett said,

    Aaaaw. I’m touched. When did I get to be such a softie?

    I believe I gave *you* a medal lovingly crafted out of the foil insides of a PopTart wrapper during the best practical joke ever played. Remember — “God Loves You and So Do I.”

  3. imfunnytoo said,

    That was the *nastiest* two hours or so of our roomateship

    Both yourself and T were magnificent at it….

  4. imfunnytoo said,

    That was the *nastiest* two hours or so of our roomateship

    Both yourself and T were magnificent at it….

Leave a Reply

